Our Houses
Aerial shot of the Michigan medical campus

History Lives Here

The M-Home debuted in 2015 with the primary mission of establishing a learning community framework for medical education. Current and incoming students were sorted into four houses: A, B, C and D. These temporary names served their purpose in the short term while we got this concept off the ground. Our simple alphabet monikers were replaced in 2017 with more meaningful names and insignia thanks to the thoughtful efforts of our students, faculty and staff.

The Dr. William Henry Fitzbutler House, named for our school's first African-American graduate who founded one of the first medical colleges that did not permit discrimination based on race.

The Dr. Jonas Edward Salk House, named for a virologist who pioneered one of the first influenza vaccines, and later co-developed the historical polio vaccine.

The Dr. Alice Hamilton House, named for a renowned industrial and occupational researcher who was heavily engaged in social reform and improving the lives of the working poor.

The Dr. Amanda Sanford House, named for our school's first female graduate, whose innovative research and description of puerperal eclampsia greatly advanced obstetrical care and women's health.

These four individuals left an indelible mark not only in their time, but also on the history of our Medical School. Their legacies continue to inspire us, and their names are reminders of our purpose as we train the next generation of physician leaders.