Department of Emergency Medicine Faculty Awards

Alpha Omega Alpha

• 2008 Inducted Member

Haggins, Adrianne

American Academy of Chairs in Emergency Medicine (AACEM)

• 2023 Distinguished Service Award Neumar, Bob

American Academy of Emergency Medicine (AAEM)

• 2004 Peter Rosen Award for Academic Leadership Barsan, Bill

American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP)

•	2004	Award for Outstanding Contributions in Research	Barsan, William
•	2017	Award for Outstanding Contributions in Research	Neumar, Robert
•	2017	Rising Star Award	Hsu, Cindy
•	2018	Emergency Medicine Choosing Wisely Champion	Kocher, Keith
•	2019	Award for Outstanding Contributions in Research	Cunningham, Rebecca
•	2019	Urgent Matters Injury Prevention Innovation of	
		the Year Award	Carter, Patrick
•	2023	911 Legislative Network Member of the Year	Uren, Brad
•	2024	Award for Outstanding Contributions in Research	Ward, Kevin

American Society for Clinical Investigation

• 2024 Elected, Member Korley, Fred

American Heart Association (AHA)

		• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •	
•	2014	Young Investigator Award	Sanderson, Thomas
•	2016	Cor Vitae Award	Neumar, Robert
•	2016	Young Investigator Award	Ansari, Sardar
•	2020	Young Investigator Award	Hsu, Cindy
•	2023	Hemorrhagic Stroke Research Excellence Award	Royan, Regina
•	2023	Research Goes Red Data Challenge,	
		Grand Prize Winner	Royan, Regina
•	2024	Stroke Data Challenge Runner Up	Royan, Regina

Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology

2014 Maximizing Access to Research Careers Travel
 Award - Research in Computational Molecular
 Biology Regulatory and Systems Genomics
 Bauer, Brittany

•	2014	Maximizing Access to Research Careers Travel Award - Great Lakes Bioinformatics Conference	Bauer, Brittany	
Natio	nal Ac	ademy of Medicine (NAM)		
•	2003	Elected, Institute of Medicine	Barsan, William	
•	2015	Elected, Fellow	Neumar, Robert	
•	2017	Elected, Fellow	Abir, Mahshid	
•	2023	Elected, Fellow	Carter, Patrick	
Natio	nal Ac	ademy of Science (NAS)		
•	2023	Elected, Fellow	Ward, Kevin	
Natio	nal Atl	nletic Trainer's Organization (NATA)		
•	2017	Kenneth L. Knight Award for the Outstanding		
		Research Manuscript	Goldstick, Jason	
•	2017	Research & Education Foundation Scholarship	Bretzin, Abigail	
Natio	nal Sci	ence Foundation (NSA)		
•	2016	Travel Award	Farzaneh, Negar	
•	2017	i G		
		Honorable Mention	Farzaneh, Negar	
Research Society on Alcoholism				
•	2004	Junior Investigator Award	Cranford, James	
Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM)				
•		John Marx Leadership Award	Barsan, William	
•		Annual Meeting Semi-Finalist for Basic Science	VanEpps, Scott	
•	2014	Annual Sonogames Competition, 2nd Place	Theyyunni, Nik	
•	2014	Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism		
	204.4	in Medicine Award	Losman, Eve	
•	2014	Best Research Abstract, Semi-finalist	Kocher, Keith	
•	2014	CDEM Innovation in Medical Education Award	House, Joseph	
•	2015	Early Investigator Award Best Faculty Research Abstract in	Meurer, Will	
•	2017	Pediatric Emergency Care	Kocher, Keith	
•	2017	Early Investigator Award	Kocher, Keith	
•	2018	Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism		
		in Medicine Award	Barsan, William	
•	2018	SimWars National Champion	Haas, Nathan	

Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM) (cont.)

J (•	A LID CALLE	(conc.)
•	2019	Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism	
		in Medicine Award	Sozener, Cemal
•	2019	AWAEM Early Career Educator/Research Award	Hsu, Cindy
•	2019	AEUS Best International Research Award	Oteng, Rockefeller
•	2019	Early Investigator Award	Carter, Patrick
•	2020	Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism	
		in Medicine Award	Sozener, Cemal
•	2020	AEUS Best Prospective Research Award	Theyyunni, Nik
•	2020	Early Investigator Award	Ward, Kevin
•	2020	Excellence in Research Award	Ward, Kevin
•	2020	John Marx Leadership Award	Neumar, Robert
•	2020	Mid-Career Investigator Award	Meurer, Will
•	2021	Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism	
		in Medicine Award	Sozener, Cemal
•	2021	Excellence in Research Award	Silbergleit, Robert
•	2021	Mid-Career Investigator Award	Korley, Frederick
•	2022	Early Investigator Award	Hsu, Cindy
•	2023	Best Clinical Research Award	Brent, Christine
•	2023	Mentor Award	Kocher, Keith
•	2024	Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism	
		in Medicine Award	Harvey, Carrie
•	2024	AEUS Distinguished Service Award	Theyyunni, Nik
•	2024	Mid-Career Investigator Award, Nominated	VanEpps, Scott
•	2024	Organizational Advancement Award	VanEpps, Scott
		0 · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	

Society for Critical Care Medicine (SCCM)

•	1995	Hal Jayne Excellence in Research Award	Barsan, William
•	2005	Presidential Citation Award	Gunnerson, Kyle
•	2006	Presidential Citation Award	Gunnerson, Kyle
•	2018	Presidential Citation Award	Bassin, Ben
•	2020	Barry A. Shapiro Memorial Award for	
		Excellence in Critical Care Management	Bassin, Ben

Surgical Critical Care Program Directors Society

• 2016 Excellence in Research Award,
Honorable Mention Hsu, Cindy

United States Public Health Service

• 2018 National Award for Excellence in Public Health Royan, Regina